Hike more, worry less!

I had planned on heading into the Balsam Mountain area of the Smokies near Cherokee in a couple of weeks, but after reading a fellow hiking bloggers post about the area, decided that there is no time like the present. The weather has been fabulous and I was in desperate need of some trail therapy. Luckily I’ve become quite the minimalist and it doesn’t take long to pack a few things into my trusty old SUV and be on my way.

Day 1: Flat Creek Trail

Before hitting the road, I texted my daughter, Klaire to tell her that if she just happened to have some time off and nothing to do, I was going to be at Balsam Mountain Campground over the next few days. Well, it turned out that she and Patrick did have the afternoon off and were planning on a hike, so we agreed to meet at the Flat Creek Trailhead. It was a fantastic drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway and when I stopped at an overlook to answer a phone call, noticed 2 people examining some plants on a rock face across the road. Being such a plant nerd, of course I had to go see what they were looking at. What a treat to see some rare Grass of Parnassus in full bloom!

IMG_8244
Such intricate flowers!

While waiting for Klaire and Patrick to arrive at the trailhead I chatted with some folks just completing their hike and turned out they lived in the next town over from where I  once lived on the SC coast, plus the woman volunteered at the Garden where I used to work. They suggested walking back to the trailhead on the road since there was so little traffic and it offered some pretty views. My hiking companions soon arrived and we set off on the very pleasant Flat Creek Trail. It was an easy 2.6 mile hike with a great overlook and bench near the conclusion.

 

We took the advice of the aforementioned couple and walked back to our vehicles via the road.  6.35 miles today!

Day 2: Hemphill Bald/Caldwell Fork/Rough Fork Loop

I do really enjoy hiking with others, particularly the hiking members of my family and The Friday Hoofers. Truth is that I have met some of the finest individuals on this planet while hiking, but I really do enjoy hiking solo. It gives me time to contemplate the complexities of my life and when I’ve chewed on that long enough, I toss it out and just absorb the peacefulness of the trail and the glorious nature around me. It restores my soul! So, I’m always surprised at the surprise of others to my hiking solo. Would they tell a dude hiking alone to please be careful and be safe? Hopefully they are just well wishes and not meant to worry me.

 

I met a pleasant hiking group from Knoxville at the intersection of Rough Fork and Caldwell Fork trails and surprisingly it was the women that were concerned about my safety. I assured them I would be very careful and quickly moved on to my next human interaction with 2 men taking a break at the intersection of the Hemphill Bald Trail. They offered me their last homemade oatmeal cookie that I gratefully accepted. It was delicious! One of the guys had section hiked the Appalachian Trail, finishing the New England section in 2017 so we commiserated on the difficulty of Maine and New Hampshire. Back walking, I quickly realized that I hadn’t paid attention to my guidebooks advice to hike this loop counter-clockwise and now had an uphill slog to reach the bald.

 

I soon arrived at the fenced in picnic area at the top of the bald and enjoyed a late lunch and just hung out for about an hour admiring the magnificent view down into Maggie Valley.

IMG_8278

There was an inlaid peak finder map on the stone picnic table and it was fun to be able to identify Mount Pisgah and Frying Pan Mountain in the distance, both mountains in my home tramping ground of the Pisgah Forest and often visible on the hikes I do with the Hoofers. In the other direction I could see Roan Mountain which I hiked across on a freezing cold fall day on the AT in 2017. There was also a plaque commemorating the owners of the adjacent Cataloochee Ranch who had placed their property in a conservation easement so no development will occur to impede the incredible view. Thank you so much folks! It’s interesting what you sometimes see in the back country! Is that horse or elk scat? I say probably elk. And what the heck are the solar panels, wind turbine and antenna with a pointing red arrow all about?

 

The rest of the hike followed the boundary of the park and I loved walking beside the remnants of the old fence.

IMG_8289

I concluded my hike at about 5:30 and headed back to the campground. I don’t usually camp in the front country but this one was extremely pleasant with very few people. It was quite luxurious to have a picnic table, my comfy camp chair, and an evening campfire! Today’s long hike provided the necessary trail therapy I alluded to earlier! 13.7 miles today.

IMG_8292 (Edited)

Day 3: Spruce Mountain Trail & Mingus Creek Trail

The plan today was to knock off a couple of short trails before heading home. To reach the Spruce Mountain Trail it was necessary to commit to a one way, gravel road that would spit me out in Cherokee, 28 miles later. What a great back roads adventure. It was beautiful! About midway, I started up the Spruce Mountain Trail as it began to spit with rain but by the time I reached the terminus at Campsite #42 1.2 miles later, the sun had reappeared. I had hoped to camp here but my hiking agenda and the one way forest road didn’t mesh, so not this time.

IMG_8302
Campsite #42

Next up was 2.9 miles on the Mingus Creek Trail. I’ll complete the remaining miles on a loop hike in the future. A mile or so in I came across a sign pointing to a cemetery which I always find interesting. After walking at least a mile with no cemetery in sight I decided to turn around and continue on up the Mingus Creek Trail. I was soon regretting my morbid cemetery curiosity, as the trail turned into a steep climb up to Deeplow Gap. After mopping my brow and catching my breath at the top it was at least all down hill on the return. Back at the trailhead was the old Mingus Gristmill and I had a quick wander around. 9.98 miles today!

 

Conclusion:

Starting to see some leaf color, particularly at the higher elevations, and the acorns are really falling. Not at the walking on ball bearings stage yet, but it won’t be long! No rain in many weeks has caused some springs to dry up. I really enjoyed this area of the park and still have a lot of hiking to do here . I look forward to prime hiking season over the next month or two and further exploration of the Smokies! 145.3 miles of 900 completed!

 

5 thoughts on “Hike more, worry less!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.